Prof. Vishalakshi B., Department of Chemistry Receives Dr. Kalpana Chawla State Award for Young Women Scientists – 2013



Dr. Vishalakshi B., Professor, Department of Chemistry, Mangalore University has been awarded the **Dr. Kalpana Chawla State Award for Young Women Scientists – 2013.** The award was recently presented to Prof. Vishalakshi by Honøble Chief Minister of Karnataka, Sri. Siddaramaiah in the award presentation function held at J.N.Tata Auditorium, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Bharat Ratna Prof. C.N.R. Rao, Prof. Anurag Kumar- Director of Indian Institute of Science, Prof. S. Subramanian- Secretary, Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology, Ms.V.Manjula-Principal Secretary to Government, Department of IT, BT and Science and Technology, Govt of Karnataka were present.

The award instituted in 2003, is given to women scientists /engineers who make outstanding contribution in the field for development of science and technology in the state.

Prof. Vishalakshi has put in 20 years of service in the university and has deeply been involved in the studies on polymers and their applications. She has carried out extensive work on the modification of polysaccharides for development of tailor made polymer materials for pharmaceutical and industrial applications. Superabsorbent materials with stimuli responsive characteristics and materials with high adsorption capacity for dyes and metal ions have been developed for use in controlled drug delivery and water purification. Prof. Vishalakshi has presented 38 research papers in national and international conferences and published 42

papers in journals of international repute. Under her guidance, 4 students have been awarded Ph.D. degree and 7 students are working for the same. She has delivered lectures in various postgraduate centres and undergraduate colleges on different aspects of Polymer Chemistry. Prof. Vishalakshi B. has been the Chairperson of the Department of Chemistry since January 2015.