Political Science

Department of Political Science


The University was established in 1980 and the Department came into existence a year later in 1981.  Since its inception it has been extensively and intensively involved in the domains of teaching and research.  It takes pride in teaching innovative courses, taking cognizance of the advances in the discipline.  The members of the faculty are engaged in substantive research, which is recognized at national and international levels. Many of the publications are indicative of this.  All the members of   the faculty actively participate and present papers in national and international seminars and conferences. The department has also organized many national and international seminars and workshops over the years. A few have taken up major research projects funded by various agencies. Many scholars of repute have visited the department on invitation and delivered lectures. These presentations have enabled the faculty, researchers and students to keep abreast with latest developments in the subjects.

About the Department

The department has the following distinctive features

  •  Recognized as Centre for European Union Studies (2010) through India –European Union Study Centres Programme (IESCP). Initiative supported by European Commission and Government of India
  • MOU through Mangalore University for academic exchange- with Aarhus University(Denmark), University of Milan(Italy), Leiden University (Netherlands), University of Warsaw (Poland), Reutlingen University (Germany), Hochschule Bremen(Germany)
  • Recipient  of Erasmus Mundus Academic Exchange Programme Fellowships (2012), as part of interdisciplinary bridges  in Indo-European Studies IBIES Project,  funded by European Commission 



Department of Political Science

Mangalore University

Mangalagangotri - 574 199.

Phone: +91-824-2287364

E-mail: politicalscience@mangaloreuniversity.ac.in