Department of Sociology


The Department was established in the year 1980 as the University was established to promote sociological studies in this region. At present the department has five faculty members (1 -Professor, 2- Associate Professor and 2- Assistant Professor).

The department has produced 37 Ph. D’s and at present 17 Ph.D. Research scholars are working for their degrees. 17 M. Phil’s and more than 550 students have got their P.G. degrees from this department. Most of the alumni of this department are working in various Colleges, Universities, Research Institutes and NGOs. The department was also fortunate to have eminent sociologists and social scientists who visited to give special lectures. Prof G. N. Ramu, Prof. A. R Desai, Prof. M. N Srinivas, Prof. T.K. Oomman, Prof. Dhanagare, Prof. Asghar Ali Engineer, Prof. Ratna Naidu, Prof. C. Rajagopalan, Prof. Uttam Bhoite and Prof. N. Jayaram, Prof. A.E. Puneet, Prof. Anuradha Bhoite, Prof. Sathyanarayana, Prof. Jogdand, are few of the eminent sociologists among them.


Transform individuals and serve society by educating, creating and putting socially relevant knowledge to work on large scale encompassing entire society.


To create a brilliant future for the students, faculty and all stakeholders with socially just, equal and inclusive environment and contribute to the modern knowledge society by:

  • World class teaching, scholarship and service with emphasis on excellence and quality.
  • By upgrading syllabus and curriculum emphasizing on social policy and planning.
  • Introducing new papers and courses to encourage social entrepreneurship and overall development.
  • To create efficient Human Resource for Social Development, Social Planning and Policies.

Contact us

Name & Address

The Chairman

Department of Post-Graduate Studies and Research in Sociology

Mangalore University

Mangalagangotri – 574 199.


Phone: +91 – 824 – 2287374 (O)