About the Department


The post graduate department of Microbiology of Mangalore University started in 1997 initially with two lecturers and with an annual syllabus scheme. The department had started within the premises of the Field Marshal K.M Cariappa College, Cauvery campus at Madikeri, Kodagu district, Karnataka.  A good number of students were trained, and they obtained post graduate degree from the department. The University took pioneering steps towards shifting the Department of Microbiology to a new Post Graduate Centre at Chikka Aluvara, Kodagu district in January 2014. The department with 22 years of establishment is full-fledged with five dedicated faculties.  All of them with diverse specialization work with the fullest of their capacity to assure quality teaching and research in various branches of Microbiology